Nottingham Industrial Museum is located in the 17th century stables block of Wollaton Hall, on the western edge of Nottingham.
Wollaton Hall was originally designed by Robert Smythson and built for Sir Francis Willoughby, being completed following eight years of building work in 1588- the year of the Spanish Armada.
The building is in the English Renaissance style and its flamboyant design is considered to be a masterpiece. Following a fire in 1642 the interior was extensively remodelled, and again radically redesigned by Sir Jeffry Wyatville in the late 18th and early 19th centuries for the 6th Lord Middleton. The exterior remains little altered since its construction and is as stunning today as it was in 1588.
Nottingham Museums have collected machinery since the Castle opened in 1878. Before the 1960s' collecting mainly consisted of lace machinery and bicycles, reflecting the importance of those Industries to the city.
From 1964 a separate industrial collection was established, largely concentrating on the local textile, coal mining and light metal (bicycles, motorcycles etc.) trades. It was in 1966 that the stables at Wollaton Park became home to this collection. The Industrial museum was then formally opened to the public in 1971.
Today the museum is still owned by NCC and managed as part Nottingham City Museums & Galleries. However, many of the day to day aspects of the museum are now run by an enthusiastic group of volunteers. Our volunteer team are keen to support the continued development and growth of the museum for the future, and we are constantly looking for people to join us.
Funding for the museum has been provided by:
Thank you to the Freinds of Nottinghamshire Museums for providing funding for our current WW1 Exhition 'Nottingham Industries at War"